NEBOSH International General Certificate in Occupational Health and Safety

National Examination Board in Occupational Safety and Health is an UK based independent examination board. It does not provide courses but develops different qualifications and sets methods of assessments in occupational health and safety. NEBOSH provides different platforms worldwide for all level of employees to enhance their career in occupational health and safety

What are the topics covered in NEBOSH IGC?

Unit IG1: Management of health and safety (Theory Paper)

Why we should manage workplace health and safety

How health and safety management systems work and what they look like

Managing risk – understanding people and processes

Health and safety monitoring and measuring

Unit IG2: Risk assessment (Practical assessment)

Physical and psychological health

Musculoskeletal health

Chemical and biological agents

General workplace issues

Work equipment



Duration: 10 Days Class + 1 Day Exam + Project

What will I gain by achieving the NEBOSH IGC qualification?

Holders of the International General Certificate are entitled to Associate Membership (AIOSH) of the Institution of Occupational Safety and Health (IOSH). The qualification also meets the academic requirements for Technical Membership (Tech IOSH) of IOSH and Associate Membership (AIIRSM) of the International Institute of Risk and Safety Management (IIRSM).

The NEBOSH International General Certificate in Occupational Health and Safety has been accredited and credit rated by the Scottish Qualifications Authority (SQA). It sits in the Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework (SCQF) at SCQF Level 6 with 11 SCQF credit points.